Thursday, 20 November 2014

October Book Review

Finally I'm back to share my October book..... yes that's right it's just one book!

Once again I seem to have lost my reading mojo, not sure where it's hiding but I'm hoping it will come back soon before I drown in all the books I've got from my shop!



Following a disastrous marriage to a miner, Karen has devoted herself to a nursing career. Rising to the challenge of caring for the wounded soldiers returning home from the Great War, she has resigned herself to putting her vocation before any hope of a romantic life.
However, she finds herself drawn to handsome, troubled Patrick Murphy. But Patrick is also a Catholic priest. Dare Karen risk scandal and her position by falling for the one man she cannot have...?

So without further a do....
In this book I travelled back to WW1. It was the first Maggie Hope book I've read & I did really enjoy it. It was quite dark at times which just added to the story, there were also some twist & turns that I didn't see coming. As with most of these books there was a happy ending which is always good.
Another book that won't change the world but a pleasant read all the same.
8/10

Life has been a bit hectic over the last few weeks. My boiler broke & I had water pouring through the ceiling due to tiles slipping on my roof :(
It never rains but it pours doesn't it?
I've been spending most of my time up & down from the loft emptying buckets & being messed around by trades man.
I think I can see light at the end of the tunnel...... a roofer came around today with a quote, £2.6k..... crikey!!!! But it needs to be done.
I've also got heat!!! The girls are very happy :)

I just need to find a plumber now!

Talking about Crikey...... it's 8 days away!!
I decided to only do one fair this year in the hope I would then have lots of stock to sell.
Well it didn't go to plan & once again I'm in a panic!!!

Do I never learn???

Back soon






Thursday, 6 November 2014

October 2014

Hello....... I've been away so long!
My poor blog never gets any love these days, Instagram has well & truly taken over.

Just popping in to let you know what I got up to in October


It was a busy month for me...... catching up with friends, seeing The Beat, getting hooked on puzzles, cracking on with my Christmas jumper, making lots & lots of poppies, celebrating Halloween with the family & of course spending time with my girls.

Only 2 months left of 2014...... Crikey!!!!!

November is shaping up to be just as busy. I have 2 craft fairs booked in..... it's the only 2 I planned to do this year & of course I'm not ready! So I'll be busy making over the next few weeks.
I also have lots going on at work, I've been asked to organise a Christmas raffle for all 9 shops, decorate the charity Christmas tree in the city centre & come up with some ideas for fund raising for 2015...... phew!!

So you can see why I don't have much time for blogging!



Friday, 31 October 2014

Sunday, 12 October 2014

September Book Review

Two more WW2 stories read in September.


A family divided by war but united by love. Marianne seems to have everything. She is married to a handsome naval officer, Neil Sheridan, commander of a corvette. They have a daughter, Libby, and a beautiful home near Prince's Park in Liverpool. When war comes, Marianne takes war work and moves into Crocus Street with her mother, Mrs Wainwright, and younger sister. Neil disapproves because the Wainwrights live so near the docks, which are bound to be a bombing target, but Marianne is firm. Meanwhile, Libby is evacuated to the country to stay with Miss Williams, who lives in an ancient house, Tregarth, at the head of a valley in North Wales and Libby, the wheelchair-bound Matthew and Miss Williams assume they can settle down to see out the war in comparative safety. But, Libby is forced to return to the city when her mother suffers an accident and her gran finds herself unable to cope ...

I love Katie Flynn books & this one didn't disappoint. I read this one pretty quick for me, I did see the twist in the story before it came but I still really enjoyed it.
9/10



The much-loved author of ACROSS THE MERSEY tells of Liverpool under bombardment as never before – but the Campion family refuses to give in.
The Campions have always stuck together through danger and sorrow, but even they begin to wonder if it’s time to take their youngest, the twins, to safety away from the bombing raids. The twins have other worries on their minds; having been inseparable, they now realise that they each have different ambitions - and Lou isn’t sure she’ll find what she wants close to home.
Meanwhile, cousin Bella is managing a creche and discovers that life isn’t all about pleasure. She’s the last person her family would expect to help anyone; but when a figure from the past turns up on the doorstep, Bella’s unexpected reserves of compassion are revealed.
From hardship and heartbreak, surviving the toughest of times, the Campions know they can make it through if they have one another.

This is part of a series of book which I hadn't read. I was tempted to give up once I discovered that but I'm glad I stuck with it. You can't beat a happy ending :) 
9/10

I decided not to read anymore WW2 but after 2 days of reading a modern book I gave up & went back to my favourites.
My reading mojo is slipping away again & the book I'm reading is taking forever to finish :(
I must stick with it!





Thursday, 9 October 2014

September 2014


I've been away too long & the weeks are marching on :(

So September came & went in a haze!

I finally received my anniversary present from OH...... we've been waiting since Christmas!.... top left corner, it's the new The Men They Couldn't Hang album that OH pledged, look closely & you'll see my name!!!
We remember our lovely Charlie who pass away 6 years ago, I had my 6th anniversary in blogland, started my Christmas jumper, tried to make loads for the November Crikey It's Vintage fair, finding goodies in my shop, a 1940's day out & of course spending time with my beautiful girls.

September was a lovely months & the sun shone lots. I'm getting used to living on my own but not looking forward to February when OH's lease is up on his new place...... I really don't want to move all my junk!!!

Hope I can find time to blog soon.



Sunday, 21 September 2014

Another Year In Blog Land!


Today I celebrate my 6th anniversary in blog land!

Who would have thought?

In the last year my attention has turned more to Instagram as it's quick & easy but I do like to catch up with my favourite blogs with my morning cup of tea.

Today I'm off with the family to another 1940's event, I'll tell you all about it soon.



Sunday, 14 September 2014

August Book Review


1940: as war closes in and the bombs fall, on the Homefront, two sisters must find their place in a new world of ‘men’s’ work, in which a telegraph can break your heart and nothing in the future is certain. Growing up in Birmingham, Sylvia and Audrey Whitehouse were always like chalk and cheese. As young women, while Sylvia dreams of her forthcoming life married to fiancĂ© Ian. Audrey can’t bear the thought of being tied down by marriage and children. Instead she jumps at the career opportunities the WAAF throws her way. Joining the ranks at RAF Cardington, she finds these new freedoms come with confusion and irresistible temptations. When she goes too far in one careless moment, the consequences will ripple through the whole Whitehouse family. Meanwhile, Sylvia has come round to the idea of war work and, doing her bit, becomes a railway porter, much to Ian’s dismay. Fetching and carrying are just not feminine, not like Sylvia’s new friend Kitty, who is as sweet and pretty as can be. But Kitty’s innocent, girlish nature hides a far darker secret that no one could guess… As the pressures of rationing, bombing raids and sleepless nights grow, the two sisters must decide what they really want from life and if they’re brave enough to fight for it. A heartbreaking yet inspiring novel, perfect for fans of Margaret Dickinson and Katie Flynn.
Only one book read in August. 
This was brought to the shop by a lovely lady who keeps me supplied with WW2 romance.
It was a great book, with lots twist & turns.
10/10